Etuc and Ferpa General Secretaries’ letter to the President of the European Commission
and the President of the European Parliament

Dear President von der Leyen, Dear President Sassoli,

We welcome the emergency measures that the European Commission has recently adopted. The economic resources allocated to ensure the appropriate functioning of health systems in the fight against Covid-19 and to support businesses, protect workers from unemployment and loss of income in this delicate period, are clearly needed. Trade Unions are now putting pressure on their governments to avail of such emergency measures without delay.
However, more specific and targeted health and economic measures are urgently needed to contain and stop the spread of the virus and to better manage the health, economic and employment effects of this unprecedented pandemic.
Covid-19 is infecting thousands of people across Europe and throughout the world. However, the ones paying the highest price, often with their life, are citizens over the age of 70. They are more prone to be infected and to die as a result of contracting this virus. The more vulnerable being the over-80s who are already affected by other diseases.
We recognise the severity of this health emergency and acknowledge the great commitment of doctors, nurses and all health personnel who are in the front line to treat and save lives. However, at this stage we believe it is essential that you intervene with the governments of individual countries so that the elderly, especially those with disabilities, in fragile conditions and those living alone, are given special attention and targeted health care.
In particular we would like to bring to your attention the delicate circumstances in which the elderly people residing in old people’s homes and long-term care facilities are finding themselves in. The situation is becoming dramatic in many European countries due to several outbreaks of the virus in such facilities, the staff of which are often not adequately protected.
Additionally, social assistance is needed to prevent older people from feeling lonelier, discriminated and abandoned as a result of the restrictive mobility and social relations measures implemented by governments to prevent the spread of this contagious virus.
European Trade Union Confederation | Luca Visentini, General Secretary | Bld du Roi Albert II, 5, B – 1210 Brussels | +32 (0)2 224 04 11 | etuc@etuc.org | www.etuc.org
We hope that solidarity between European countries and between generations will be strengthened because it is only by standing together that we can defeat this terrible coronavirus. We are counting on your intervention to defend of the health of all European citizens and in particular of the elderly, who are the most vulnerable people. They are the generation that contributed to build the European Union and they are the ones that are now paying too high price with too many deaths.

Yours sincerely,

Luca Visentini, ETUC General Secretary
Agostino Siciliano, FERPA General Secretary

April 15th 2020

Read the original letter in PDF format

Le nouveau message d’Agostino Siciliano:
Solidarité et fraternité en Europe aujourd’hui et demai

Chères et Chers Collègues,

Premièrement, j’espère que vous et vos proches allez tous bien. Cette situation me préoccupe et me désole… nous vivons des moments terribles dans nos pays respectifs à cause de la pandémie qui fait des milliers de personnes infectées et tellement de morts.

Cette semaine, nous étions censés de nous réunir tous à Bruxelles pour la réunion du COMEX. Nous sommes tous hélàs confinés pour ralentir et éviter toute contagion du Covid-19.

Nous savons tous que cette grave situation sanitaire, qui touche plus particulièrement les personnes âgées, aura un impact négatif sur l’économie mondiale et plus partiulièrement de l’Europe et ses différents états. Je voudrais vous faire part de certaines de mes réflexions et de mes idées afin d’essayer de trouver ensemble des stratégies pour pouvoir continuer et améliorer ensemble et en tant que membres de la FERPA, notre rôle dans la défense des millions de personnes âgées et de retraités européens.

Les questions que je me pose sont les suivantes :

Lorsque nous sortirons, bientôt je l’espère, de cette situation, l’Europe ainsi que les différents gouvernements tiendront-ils compte de ce qui s’est passé pour éviter que cela ne se reproduise dans leurs futurs choix en matière de politique économique, de développement et de recherche ?
Tout le monde reconnaît l’engagement des médecins, du personnel soignant et de tous les travailleurs du secteur de la santé qui sont sur le front pour sauver des vies. A l’avenir, y aura-t-il des investissements dans les systèmes de santé publique pour les améliorer en allant au-delà de la logique habituelle des réductions et des privatisations étant donné que cette urgence a mis en évidence les lacunes, les difficultés et les dommages causés dans de nombreux pays par les réductions constantes du bien-être et de la santé publique.
L’Union européenne sera-t-elle en mesure de faire des choix en matière de politique économique pour gérer cette crise sans faire peser la charge sur les travailleurs et les retraités comme elle l’a fait avec la crise financière de 2008 ?
La communauté scientifique a tiré la sonnette d’alarme sur la haute mortalité des personnes âgées du fait qu’elles sont vulnérables et donc plus à risque. Les nations européennes tiendront-elles compte dans le futur de cette réalité et encourageront-elles les politiques visant à promouvoir un vieillissement actif et sain pour le plus grand nombre de citoyens ?

Aujourd’hui, nous ne savons pas comment l’Union européenne et les gouvernements de nos pays respectifs vont agir, ni quelles politiques ils adopteront à l’égard de ces questions. La FERPA et tous ces membres doivent être prêts à agir avec nos revendications. Beaucoup de réponses à ces questions nous les retrouvons dans le travail que nous réalisons via les dossiers. Ces dossiers permettront à la FERPA de jouer un rôle plus incisif vis-à-vis des institutions européennes.

Nous devons également, je le répète, veiller à ce que les politiques d’austérité et les réductions dues à la crise ne soient pas mises en place pour soi disant défendre l’emploi et les revenus des travailleurs et des retraités.

Je comprends bien combien il est difficile de parler de syndicalisme et de nos dossiers en cours durant cette période pénible pour nous tous où des milliers de personnes sont infectées et décédées à cause du COVID-19. Veuillez m’excuer pou cette intrusion mais il me semblait utile de garder le contact avec vous durant ces moments sombres et de renforcer la solidarité entre nous par un travail qui sera certainement utile pour revendiquer les intérêts des personnes âgées et des retraités que nous représentons. Ce travail peut également nous aider à regarder au-delà de cette terrible pandémie, afin que nous puissions arriver à notre Assemblée à mi-mandat en octobre avec les dossiers terminés sur base desquels nous pourrons construire un projet de revendication commune.

J’exprime ma solidarité et ma fraternité envers vous tous, ainsi que Jessica et Henri.

Mes salutations les plus chaleureuses.

Agostino SICILIANO
Secrétaire Général

26 mars 2020

COVID-19: Le message du Secrétaire Général Ferpa

Chères et Chers Collègues,

La Commission européenne a présenté des mesures d’urgence, qui doivent être approuvées par l’Eurogroupe et l’ECOFIN ces 16 et 17 mars, qui affecteront les ressources économiques dans la lutte contre le Covid-19 et ce afin de garantir le fonctionnement des systèmes de santé et dans le but de soutenir les États membres pour qu’ils puissent soutenir les entreprises, protéger les travailleurs du chômage et de la perte de revenus, ce qui pourrait avoir des effets permanents.
Le Secrétaire général de la CES, Luca Visentini, dans une lettre datée du 13 mars, a appelé tous les dirigeants syndicaux européens à faire pression sur leurs gouvernements pour qu’ils adoptent sans délai les mesures d’urgence proposées par la Commission européenne. Le Comité exécutif de la CES, réuni à Bruxelles les 9 et 10 mars, dans une déclaration concernant l’épidémie, avait déjà souligné la nécessité de prendre des mesures appropriées pour arrêter et contenir la propagation du virus et mieux gérer les effets sanitaires, économiques et sur l’emploi de cette situation difficile sans précédent.

En ce qui nous concerne plus directement la FERPA, le Covid-19, comme vous le savez, infecte principalement les personnes âgées et les personnes atteintes de maladies graves. En Italie, à ce jour, les personnes les plus touchées, tant en termes de positivité qu’en termes de décès, sont les personnes de plus de 70 ans, avec un pic pour les octogénaires, touchés par une certaine pathologie. Il est donc nécessaire de faire pression sur les gouvernements de nos pays respectifs pour que les personnes âgées, en particulier celles qui sont handicapées, qui vivent dans des conditions fragiles et celles qui vivent seules, bénéficient d’une prise en charge sanitaire et sociale adéquate, afin d’éviter qu’elles ne se sentent plus seules, discriminées et abandonnées, en raison des mesures restrictives de mobilité et de relations sociales, décidées par les gouvernements pour prévenir la propagation de ce virus contagieux.

En Italie, la situation est dramatique et fait face à des mesures drastiques et à un appel fort au sens des responsabilités de ses citoyens. Malheureusement, le virus se propage également dans d’autres pays européens et j’espère que nous pourrons partager les expériences de ce qui a déjà été fait dans d’autres pays, les expériences médicales et pharmacologiques, les protocoles de diagnostic pour la prévention, afin d’éviter la contagion dès le départ et de sauver des vies.

Chers collègues de la FERPA, vos préoccupations sont aussi les miennes, mais je suis convaincu qu’ensemble et avec notre détermination, nous parviendrons à renforcer la solidarité en Europe sans enlever les frontières, afin de surmonter cette terrible pandémie dans les meilleurs délais pour défendre la santé de tous les citoyens européens et en particulier des personnes âgées, qui sont les plus vulnérables.

Mes salutations les plus fraternelles.
Agostino SICILIANO
Secrétaire Général

17 mars 2020

————————————————————–

Présentation de Agostino Siciliano, Secrétaire générale de la FERPA.

Cher visiteur,
Bienvenue sur le site Web de la Fédération Européenne des Retraités et des Personnes Agées (FERPA).

Agostino Siciliano • General Secretary
Agostino Siciliano • Secrétaire générale

Dans un contexte européen qui tend à se désintégrer, la FERPA tentera, avec la Confédération européenne des syndicats (CES), de renforcer son rôle pour influencer sur les choix en matière de politique économique, afin de constituer une Europe:

  1. avec de nouveaux équilibres sociaux et avec plus d’unité entre les peuples;
  2. capable d’améliorer les conditions de vie de millions de citoyens européens de tous âges et de toutes origines;
  3. garantir à tous le travail et des pensions adéquates aux personnes âgées, afin de leur permettre de continuer à vivre dans la dignité, en réduisant la pauvreté, les inégalités et le chômage.

À cette fin, l’échange d’informations et de communications est un élément déterminant. C’est pourquoi la FERPA tentera, via son site Web, d’ouvrir une fenêtre sur ce qui se passe en Europe, dans les différents pays et dans la CES.

Cher visiteur, « rejoignez-nous! », Avec votre contribution, nous pouvons essayer avec plus de force de parvenir à une Europe plus unie et moins bureaucratique, plus juste et plus solidaire.

MEMBRES

next
prev

Agostino Siciliano’s new message:
Solidarity and brotherhood in Europe today and tomorrow

Dear Colleagues,

First of all, I hope you and your loved ones are all well. I am concerned and saddened by this situation…we are living through terrible times in our respective countries because of the pandemic that is causing thousands of people to be infected and so many deaths.

This week, we were supposed to meet all of us in Brussels for the EXCO meeting. Unfortunately, we are all confined to slow down and avoid any contagion from Covid-19.

We all know that this serious health situation, which particularly affects the elderly, will have a negative impact on the world economy and more particularly on Europe and its various states. I would like to share with you some of my thoughts and ideas in order to try to find strategies together to continue and improve, together and as members of FERPA, our role in the defence of the millions of elderly and retired people in Europe.

The questions I am asking myself are the following:
When we, soon I hope, emerge from this situation, will Europe and the various governments take account of what has happened to prevent it from happening again in their future choices in terms of economic policy, development and research?
Everyone recognises the commitment of doctors, nurses and all health sector workers who are on the front line to save lives. In the future, will there be investments in public health systems to improve them beyond the usual logic of cuts and privatization, as this emergency has highlighted the shortcomings, difficulties and damage caused in many countries by the constant reductions in welfare and public health.
Will the European Union be able to make economic policy choices to manage this crisis without placing the burden on workers and pensioners as it did with the financial crisis of 2008?
The scientific community has sounded the alarm about the high mortality of older people because they are vulnerable and therefore more at risk. Will European nations take this reality into account in the future and encourage policies to promote active and healthy ageing for as many citizens as possible?

Today, we do not know how the European Union and the governments of our respective countries will act, nor what policies they will adopt on these issues. FERPA and all its members must be ready to act with our demands. Many of the answers to these questions can be found in the work we are doing through the dossiers. These dossiers will enable FERPA to play a more incisive role vis-à-vis the European institutions.

We must also, I repeat, ensure that the austerity policies and the cuts due to the crisis are not implemented for the sake of supposedly defending the jobs and incomes of workers and pensioners.

I understand how difficult it is to talk about trade unionism and our ongoing issues during this painful time for all of us when thousands of people are infected and die because of VIDOC-19. I apologize for this intrusion but I thought it would be useful to keep in touch with you during these dark times and to strengthen the solidarity between us through work that will certainly be useful in advocating for the interests of the seniors and retirees we represent. This work can also help us to look beyond this terrible pandemic, so that we can arrive at our mid-term Assembly in October with the completed dossiers on the basis of which we will be able to build a project of common demands.

I express my solidarity and fraternity with all of you, as well as with Jessica and Henri.

My warmest greetings.

Agostino Siciliano
General Secretary

March 26th, 2020

 

COVID-19: The message of the Secretary General Ferpa

Dear Colleagues,

The European Commission has presented emergency measures, to be approved by the Eurogroup and ECOFIN on 16 and 17 March, which will allocate economic resources in the fight against Covid-19 in order to guarantee the functioning of health systems and with the aim of supporting Member States so that they can support businesses and protect workers from unemployment and loss of income, which could have permanent effects.
ETUC General Secretary Luca Visentini, in a letter dated 13 March, called on all European trade union leaders to put pressure on their governments to adopt without delay the emergency measures proposed by the European Commission. The ETUC Executive Committee, meeting in Brussels on 9 and 10 March, in a declaration on the epidemic, had already stressed the need to take appropriate measures to stop and contain the spread of the virus and to better manage the health, economic and employment effects of this unprecedented difficult situation.

As far as FERPA is concerned more directly, Covid-19, as you know, mainly infects the elderly and people with serious illnesses. In Italy, to date, the people most affected, both in terms of positivity and in terms of deaths, are those over 70 years of age, with a peak for octogenarians, who are affected by a certain pathology. It is therefore necessary to put pressure on the governments of our respective countries to ensure that elderly people, especially those with disabilities, those living in fragile conditions and those living alone, receive adequate health and social care, so that they no longer feel alone, discriminated against and abandoned, due to the restrictive measures on mobility and social relations decided by governments to prevent the spread of this contagious virus.

In Italy, the situation is dramatic and is facing drastic measures and a strong appeal to its citizens’ sense of responsibility. Unfortunately, the virus is also spreading to other European countries and I hope that we will be able to share experiences of what has already been done in other countries, medical and pharmacological experiences, diagnostic protocols for prevention, in order to avoid contagion from the outset and to save lives.

Dear colleagues from FERPA, your concerns are also mine, but I am convinced that together and with our determination, we will succeed in strengthening solidarity in Europe without raising borders, in order to overcome this terrible pandemic as soon as possible to defend the health of all European citizens and in particular the elderly, who are the most vulnerable.

My most fraternal greetings.

Agostino SICILIANO
General Secretary

March 17th, 2020

————————————————————–

Presentation of Agostino Siciliano, general secretary of FERPA

Dear Visitor,
welcome to the website of the European Trade Union Federation representing retired, pensionners and elderly people (FERPA).

Agostino Siciliano • General Secretary
Agostino Siciliano • General Secretary

In a European context that tends to disintegrate, FERPA will try, together with the European Confederation of the Trade Unions (ETUC), to strengthen its role to affect the choices of economic policy, in order to have a Europe:

  1. with more cohesion and solidarity;
  2. with new social balances and with more unity among peoples;
  3. that is able to improve the living conditions of millions of European citizens of any age and origin;
  4. guaranteeing work for all and adequate pensions for the elderly, to make them continue to live with dignity, reducing poverty, inequality and unemployment.

To this end, the exchange of information and communications is a determining part, and therefore FERPA, through its website, will try to open a window on what is happening in Europe, in individual countries and in the ETUC.

Dear Visitor, “join us!”, As with your contribution we can try, with more force, to achieve a more united and less bureaucratic, more just and supportive Europe.

MEMBERS

next
prev

pen